Memorial Presbyterian Church

Worship with us on Sundays:
8:30 a.m. In-person
11:00 a.m. In-person & online

Church Officers


Memorial Presbyterian Church is led by Elders that make up the Session. These individuals are “chosen by the congregation to discern and measure its fidelity to the Word of God, and to strengthen and nurture its faith and life. Ruling elders, together with ministers of word and sacrament, exercise leadership, government, spiritual discernment, and discipline and have responsibilities for the life of a congregation as well as the whole church, including ecumenical relationships.” (Book of Order, G-2.0301)

MPC’s 16 elders make up the Session of our church and chair the 12 committees that support our many ministries. Our church committees are always looking for people to join us in serving the church and community. Please contact one of these Elders if you are interested in serving on a committee.

Keith Pyles (Worship and Music)
Alice Barresi (Outreach)
Glynda Copeland (Personnel)
Brian Denby (Youth)
Jeff Schnittker (Culinary)

Clara Grant (1-year term, Youth)

Susan Connor (Stewardship)
Marie Mercready (Membership)
Jim Morris (Presbyterian Day School)
Julie Reffel (Peacemaking)
Beverly Carmichael (Administration and finance)

Linda Hawkins (Clerk of Session)
Beth Masters (Congregational Nominating Committee)
Barbara McNees (Administration and Finance)
Stacey Scanlan (Christian Education)
Karl Vierck (Worship and Music)

Many thanks to the elders who have just completed their service to our congregation in the:

Mary Clukey
Bob Kerr
Jeff Vick
Emma Mowrey



Memorial Presbyterian Church also has as a caring ministry, a Board of Deacons. “ The ministry of deacon as set forth in Scripture is one of compassion, witness, and service, sharing in the redeeming love of Jesus Christ for the poor, the hungry, the sick, the lost, the friendless, the oppressed, those burdened by unjust policies or structures, for anyone in distress . Persons of spiritual character, honest repute, exemplary lives, brotherly and sisterly love, sincere compassion, and sound judgment should be chosen for this ministry.” (Book of Order, G-2.0201)

MPC’s Board of Deacons serves the congregation with energy, imagination, and love through activities such as Care Circles, First Friends, Home Communion, and many other ways that minister to those who are in need, both within and beyond the church.

Flagler Memorial Presbyterian Church St Augustine Florida (42)

Margo Currie
Karen Minder
Sally Morris
Susan Rippe
Kelly Sallas
Sue Schweim
Missy Welsch

Carla Denby Beverly Emerson Trudy English Susan Martin Carrie McCarthy Molly Vaughn Sarah Hunt

Susan Cox
Corneila Dutton
Diane Gajewski
Wes Hancock
Janet McNabb
Richard Smith
Judy Thomas

Many thanks to the deacons who have just completed their service to our congregation in the:

Dawn Canan
Betty Hinely
Mike Nimitz
Ally Walczak


Memorial Presbyterian Church also elects a Board of Trustees. Trustees “shall have the following powers: to receive, hold, encumber, manage, and transfer property, real or personal, for the congregation, provided that in buying, selling, and mortgaging real property, the trustees shall act only after the approval of the congregation, granted in a duly constituted meeting; to accept and execute deeds of title to such property; to hold and defend title to such property; to manage any permanent special funds for the furtherance of the purposes of the congregation, all subject to the authority of the session and under the provisions of the Constitution of the Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.). The powers and duties of the trustees shall not infringe upon the powers and duties of the session or the board of deacons.” (Book of Order, G-4.0101)

Lynne Blow
Jane Mathis
Greg McCarthy

Bill McNees
Sam Barresi
Jay Cox

Jon Hunt
Linda Matuza
Tom Welsch

Many thanks to the trustees who have just completed their service to our congregation in the:

Ellen Avery-Smith

MPC Courtyard